Do OATS Contain Gluten?

2019-04-15T15:25:30+00:00

Gluten is a large protein that is in a number of different grains. It can be challenging to break down and can lead to inflammation in the digestive tract.

Oats are often associated with gluten and I want to explain the connection.

Oats DO NOT contain gluten.

BUT most oats are manufactured in a facility that also manufactures wheat, so most oats are contaminated with gluten. Therefore if you are gluten intolerant or have celiac disease then you should not consume regular oats.

If you are gluten intolerant or gluten sensitive or have celiac disease and you are consuming oats, then you should be looking for labels that say “manufactured in a wheat-free or gluten-free facility”.